Developmental Graduate Students

Cynthia Boo

Advisor: Letitia Naigles

cynthia.boo@uconn.edu

Research Interests: cultural influences during early childhood,
language production among autistic children, narrative patterns in bi-cultural contexts
Kelsey Davinson

Advisor: Kimberly Cuevas

kelsey.davinson@uconn.edu 

Research Interests: memory development, infant learning and memory, neuroimaging (EEG and MRI)
Image of Kaya LeGrand Kaya LeGrand

Advisor: Letitia Naigles

kaya.legrand@uconn.edu

Research Interests: language in autism spectrum disorder (ASD) across the lifespan, language learning, and communication abilities of minimally verbal and nonverbal individuals with ASD
Amanda Mankovich

Advisor: Umay Suanda

amanda.mankovich@uconn.edu

Research Interests: language acquisition,
parent-child interaction, child attention and reasoning  
Kelly Mahaffy

Advisor: Nicole Landi

kelly.mahaffy@uconn.edu

Research Interests: reading comprehension, development of language and reading, brain structure and function underlying language abilities
Katelyn Pitcher

Advisor: Rhiannon Smith

katelyn.pitcher@uconn.edu

Research Interests: stereotype and bias development in children
Madeline Quam

Advisor: Marie Coppola

madeline.quam@uconn.edu

Research Interests: language acquisition and emergence, homesign, sign languages, number cognition
Lee Tecoulesco

Advisor: Letitia Naigles

lee.tecoulesco@uconn.edu

Research Interests: learning and language in individuals with autism spectrum disorders (ASD), lexical acquisition and organization, central auditory system’s role in language processing
Martina Villa

Advisor: Nicole Landi

martina.villa@uconn.edu

Research Interests: dyslexia, neural networks for reading, visual processing, machine learning
Emily Yearling

Advisor: Gerry Altmann

emily.yearling@uconn.edu

Research Interests: the interaction between perception and action in the developing brain, development of categorical and conceptual knowledge,
cognitive development in early childhood