Developmental Faculty

Marie Coppola

Associate Professor

Office: Bousfield 139

slam.uconn.edu; languagecreationlab.uconn.edu

marie.coppola@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Language emergence, home sign, cognitive development, number cognition, sign language structure, language acquisition
Kimberly Cuevas

Associate Professor

Office: WTBY 338   

https://kidcaplab.uconn.edu/

kimberly.cuevas@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Development of basic and higher-order cognitive processes: learning, memory, executive functions, Developmental cognitive/social neuroscience: EEG, ECG, Neural mirroring systems, Latent learning: imitation, sensory preconditioning
James Green

Professor & Department Head  

Office: Bousfield 102

james.green@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Early social development, prelinguistic communication, crying, quantitative methods

 

 

Nicole Landi

Associate Professor  

Office: Bousfield 115

https://landi.lab.uconn.edu/   

nicole.landi@uconn.edu           

Research Interests: Reading, Reading and Language Disorders, Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience, Neuroimaging Genetics

 

Letitia Naigles

Professor & Developmental Program Head

Office: Bousfield 141

https://cll.research.uconn.edu/

letitia.naigles@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Language acquisition across languages and etiologies
Adam Sheya

Assistant Professor

Office: Bousfield 155

adam.sheya@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Development of categorical and conceptual knowledge in early childhood, Emergence of Relational Reasoning, Interactions between perceiving, acting, and knowing, Models of Developmental Change
Rhiannon Smith

Associate Professor

Office: Bousfield 154

rhiannon.smith@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Friendships and social-emotional adjustment in childhood and adolescence
Umay Suanda

Assistant Professor

Office: Bousfield 151

https://comdev.uconn.edu

s.suanda@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Early communication and language development, the input and the learning environment, the dynamics of early social interactions, statistical learning, mechanisms of word learning.

Affiliated Faculty

 

James Dixon

Professor

Department of Psychological Sciences

(Ecological Psychology Program)

Inge-Marie Eigsti

Professor

Department of Psychological Sciences

(Clinical Program)

Deborah Fein

Distinguished Professor

Department of Psychological Sciences

(Clinical Program)

Gwen Gustafson 

Research Professor

Department of Psychological Sciences

Linda Halgunseth

Associate Professor

Department of Human Development & Family Studies

Elena Levy

Associate Professor

Department of Psychological Sciences

(Stamford Regional Campus)

James Magnuson

Professor

Department of Psychological Sciences

(Language & Cognition Program)

Stephanie Milan

Associate Professor

Department of Psychological Sciences

(Clinical Program)

Erika Skoe

Associate Professor

Department of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

Whit Tabor

Department of Psychological Sciences

(Language & Cognition Program)

Manuela Wagner

Professor

Department of Literatures, Cultures, and Languages